in the words of the Shining Beacon himself.

If I try to be like him, who will be like me?
–Santiago, The Alchemist 

 

I read this quote this morning, and all I could think of was someone telling me – “be authentic”. I don’t know why it struck me at this moment, right now, and so hard – but it did. And I think I am beginning to understand what that means.
 

One thought on “in the words of the Shining Beacon himself.

  1. ummm, I’m pretty sure that The Alchemist is my favorite book

    And I’m pretty sure that I wrote that quote (calligraphy style) and have it posted on the wall above my bed right now

    and I’m pretty sure I’m about to read the Alchemist for the 3rd time.

    Try By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept by him. It’s very spiritual, but it has a lot of good moments like The Alchemist.

    I’ll end this long comment with another quote I like, though to be honest, there are so many great ones from that book it’s hard to choose just one, but I’m gonna try and control myself:

    I’m like everyone else – I see the world in terms of what I would like to see happen, not what actually does.

    I can’t remember how far into that quote is, but you may have already read it. SUCH A GREAT BOOK! (okay I’m done raving, I’ll leave you to enjoy it and fantasmic India in peace)

Leave a Reply

