talk about Western influence…

So, on my traineeship.

I work with an NGO here in India developing the Indian education system by providing supplementary workshops in areas that we feel Indian children need more education on, most specifically to broaden their world view. (Hence the Project Worldview title.)

Currently, I am working in a really great school with two other trainees (Midori from Japan and Bijal from the US) on teaching cultural education to kids that are about 9-11. They are adorable, smart, and always excited to be there. It is really fun for me to see the impact that I have on them for the short time that I am here – and they are absolutely hilarious. For example…

We did a session where the kids, in groups, would create their own culture (complete with food, clothing, etc.) and present it in front of the class. They also had to make up a dance and a song. And then one group got up and sang “Smack That” by Akon and Eminem. I don’t think I have laughed so hard in my life.

Leave a Reply

