why Ramadan?

My first week of Ramadan fasting is drawing to a close, and it has been difficult to last throughout the day, but not impossible. I’m kind of strangely proud of the willpower that I have to make it so long. A lot of people asked me why I fast, and it is something that I have been thinking about quite a bit while I while away the hours between suhoor and iftar. Clearly, Ramadan fasting is not just about not eating or drinking – it is about re-establishing your connection with your family, your community, and your faith. For me it is also about connecting with Egyptian and Islamic culture, learning more about Islam, and an experiencing something that defines a whole section of the world. It is the fifth day of fasting, and Eid el-Fitr begins in 24 days. I plan to keep regular updates about fasting, Ramadan, and everything here – let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

