the endings of oh-eight, in pictures.

A room with a view.
A new year, a new start. The view from my apartment. Yes, that is the Nile and most of Zamalek. Jealous? You should come and see it for yourself. More apartment pictures to come…

 

A new MCP.
Tiffany Curtiss, one of my heroes not only in AIESEC but in my whole life. One day, this woman cornered me after an AIESEC meeting to come to dinner. Her (gentle) pushing is the reason I have come so far in this organization, the reason why I have such high goals that I am working to attain, and why I have been inspired to see every side of this world, know it, and make it a better place. If you don’t know her yet, you should get to know her. You will know her someday either way because when they say change agent, this is what they mean. This picture is from the very very beginning, and always makes me smile to think of all that has happened since then. Congratulations Tiffany, I am so excited to come back to AIESEC in the US in June and work with you!

 

A friend heading back stateside.
Roommate number two to head back to the USofA. This girl has infiltrated my vocabulary, made these past few months bearable, renewed my love for hopping around like a crazy, and is totally ball-hair. I’m going to miss bovering her and commenting on various repressions that we experienced in this country, and so much more.

A Jenny-Benny.
Hey guess what? I miss you. Yeah, that’s right. Like tons.

A city that I love.
Cairo, Al-Qaharra, Masr. I love this city. Yes, you can see the pyramids in this picture, if you look really hard. I’m celebrating the entry of 2009 in Siwa with Christina, and in just over a week I will be flying to London and Paris. But Cairo is becoming home.

Happy New Year. 2009 I’m feeling will be a fantastic year, insha’Allah.

One thought on “the endings of oh-eight, in pictures.

  1. Oh Maddie, I miss you so much. I was telling someone just now about you and how I felt you were one of those people I could see being an MCP (btw, I’m looking for a few good people to take my team’s place for the next year, so make sure you make the most out of this one! 😉 )

    Your post was really touching. The election process wasn’t so gentle on me in a way I never expected. It seems my determination and confidence causes me to look intimidating and shook up my confidence in being able to inspire people. I have a lot of work to do as I become more self-aware but I’m glad to know that at least some good has come from my ‘gentle pushing’ over the years.

    I miss you terribly and hope you come visit me in NYC and keep me warm during the winter…. sigh

    Take care and kisses from the US!

    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

