best Finals Week playlist ever, or Pump Up the Jam!

Almost finished with last bout of Finals ever. Ever ever. I graduate in less than three days. Of course, I’m behind on work, exhausted, and stressed out. I need music to study, so I decide to pick something that I know will not only motivate me to finish, but will make me happy. Pandora turns on and boom-bam: Salt-N-Pepa station. I love Salt-N-Pepa, probably more than is healthy. I often crowbar “Push It” into conversations (including the dance). My favorite Salt-N-Pepa is without a doubt Spinderella. People don’t understand my weirdness, I’ve come to terms.

Anyways. Pandora made me the best mix ever.  Legitimately best ever. It’s full of good feelings and delightful memories from my childhood and dance-able tunes. I had a dance party in the library, others final-stduiers did not approve. But come on – Salt-N-Pepa? Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch? Biz Markie? It’s brilliant.

Be forewarned that the next party of mine you come to, it’s highly likely that these will be the only tunes I play.

  1. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
  2. Free Your Mind – En Vogue
  3. It Takes Two – Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock
  4. Work It – Missy Elliott
  5. Let Me Clear My Throat – DJ Kool
  6. Thriller – Michael Jackson
  7. Slow Motion – Juvenile
  8. Gin & Juice – Snoop Dogg
  9. Expression – Salt-N-Pepa
  10. U Can’t Touch This – MC Hammer
  11. Kiss – Prince
  12. It’s Tricky – Run DMC
  13. Doo Wop (That Thing) – Lauryn Hill
  14. Whatta Man – Salt-N-Pepa
  15. Are You that Somebody – Aaliyah
  16. Baby Got Back – Sir Mix-a-Lot
  17. Ho – Ludacris
  18. Tootsee Roll – 69 Boys
  19. None Of Your Business – Salt-N-Pepa
  20. Just a Friend – Biz Markie 
  21. Hey Ma – Cam’ron
  22. Poison – Bell Biv DeVoe
  23. OPP – Naughty by Nature
  24. Let’s Talk About Sex – Salt-N-Pepa
  25. Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice
  26. Whoomp There It Is – Tag Team
  27. Pretty Boy Swagga – Soulja Boy Tell’em
  28. It Was a Good Day – Ice Cube
  29. SuperFreak – Rick James
  30. The Power – Snap!
  31. Rumpshaker – Wreckx-n-Effect
  32. Push It – Salt-N-Pepa
  33. I Wish I Was a Baller – Too $hort
  34. Da Dip – Freak Nasty
  35. Rico Suave – Gerardo
  36. Nasty – Janet Jackson
  37. Shoop – Salt-N-Pepa
  38. All the Way Round Girl – LL Cool J
  39. Let Me Blow Your Mind – Eve
  40. Funky Cold Medina – Tone-Loc
  41. Bust a Move – Yound MC
  42. Lose Control – Missy Elliott
  43. Bossy – Kelis
  44. No Diggity – Blackstreet
  45. Jump Around – House of Pain
  46. Check Yo Self – Ice Cube
  47. Jump – Kris Kross
  48. Hey Ya! – Outkast
  49. Pump up the Jam – Technotronic
  50. Dancin’ With Myself – Billy Idol
  51. Beat It – Michael Jackson
  52. The Humpty Dance – Digital Underground
  53. Get Up! – Technotronic
  54. Take it to Da House – Trick Daddy
  55. Nuthin’ But a G-Thang – Dr. Dre
  56. Good Vibrations – Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch

What songs would you add?

Exceptionally exhausted. Need more Spinderella. Back to paper writing.

Leave a Reply

