Congratulations, K21s!

DSC_0549

I am truly honored to have stood next to all these incredible people and take my oath as a Peace Corps Volunteer. There is something singularly extraordinary about the determination and drive of my fellow Volunteers. As we settle into our new homes around the Kyrgyz Republic, I know each of them are going to do incredible things.

Bonus note: If you ever wanted to see a Peace Corps Swearing In Ceremony, you can watch the K-21s take their oath, sing a song in Kyrgyz, watch me get pulled up into a dancing troupe who had just finished combining Thriller with traditional Kyrgyz dancing,  watch Max rock out on the mandolin, and listen to Volunteers, Staff, and Ambassador Pamela Spratlen speak about the importance of the Peace Corps in helping to build lasting and meaningful relationships between America and the rest of the world. Take a look HERE. Apparently, this is now a link to a guinea pig in a cage. Hat tip to SouthAmericanPCV for letting me know!

5 thoughts on “Congratulations, K21s!

    • Oh No! They did warn us that it was only going to last a few weeks – thanks for letting me know!

      • 🙂 I’m at site in Azogues, Ecuador so I’m reading up on your jouney through training. What an awesome placement you have! I know the days of intense immersion must be difficult, but, holy smokes!, you’re learning so much.

      • Thanks! I am so excited about getting started at permanent site – I am really excited to read more about your service and site, too! I do feel like I am learning a ton, and all very quickly. Thanks for your support, and I hope to hear more from you!

  1. Pingback: One Year Ago… | i figure wherever i am, that's where the world is

Leave a Reply

