World Wise Schools: Hello Irving, TX!

One of the questions I get the most is this: “Wait – where are you again?” A big part of my job as a Peace Corps Volunteer – one of Peace Corps’ three goals, in fact – is to “help promote better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans,” and I get to start working with the Third Goal in a new way this year!

I am excited to start working with the Coverdell World Wise Schools program, a Peace Corps’ Office of the Third Goal Program, that connects currently serving Volunteers with American classrooms, providing US educators a way to teach their students about the countries where Volunteers serve, public service and volunteerism, and the work of the Peace Corps.

I am really excited to begin working with my class – Mrs. Gregory’s Kindergarten Class at John R. Good Elementary School in Irving, Texas! I will be updating my work with Mrs. Gregory’s class here, and welcome any ideas on talking about my work or life as a Peace Corps Volunteer. I remember having a currently serving Peace Corps Volunteer from Paraguay come and talk to one of my classes as an 8th grader, and her stories – ranging from challenging to bizarre to heartwarming – was one of the things that convinced me to take on the challenge to serve. 

I’m so excited about working with these kids who, Mrs. Gregory assures me, are incredibly bright, caring, and curious about the rest of the world. Hopefully they are equally excited to learn about Kyrgyzstan!

WWS FUN FACT: The distance between Irving, Texas and Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan is 7,176 miles!

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 5.29.21 PM

Interested in being a part of the World Wise Schools Program?

Image Source

Leave a Reply

