A Peace Corps Kyrgyz Republic Valentine, or A Frozen Love Song to Abigail (My Below-Zero Sleeping Bag)

SleepingBagValentine

 Baby, it’s cold outside.

Here’s hoping that you have someone to keep you warm in the cold cold Kyrgyz winter (cold enough to freeze the inside of my windows, even with the heater on, and for me not to be able to feel my feet for a whole day and a half). And yes, my sleeping bag is named Abigail. Abigail, and endless cups of instant coffee, are currently the only thing warm things in my apartment.

Also featured in this silly doodle is my favorite Kyrgyz purchase ever, an oversized Huxtable sweater called Larry. (Yes, I do name most of my belongings, and yes, I know how weird that is. I’m a weird kid.)

And if you are interested in reading about true, compassionate, and understanding love this Valentine’s Day, read Sara’s post about finding compassion in working with harm reduction. It’s incredible and moving and difficult and inspiring.

Stay warm, stay weird, and MUCH LOVE from Bishkek,
Maddie

PS. Good news, being cold is good for your metabolism. So I’ve got that going for me which is nice.

5 thoughts on “A Peace Corps Kyrgyz Republic Valentine, or A Frozen Love Song to Abigail (My Below-Zero Sleeping Bag)

  1. Hey! I was searching for Peace Corps on Linkedin and weirdly enough your profile popped up because we have a mutual friend in common. Emily Webb? Small world. I received my invitation last month 🙂 Hope all is well!

  2. Pingback: Unsolicited Advice for a New Peace Corps Volunteer: What to Bring. | i figure wherever i am, that's where the world is

  3. Pingback: Bishkek Smells Like Summer | i figure wherever i am, that's where the world is

  4. Pingback: Unsolicited advice for a new Volunteer: What to bring | Peace Corps Mid-Atlantic Region

Leave a Reply

